Taormina the beautiful

After that first wonderful espresso (1 Euro) as soon as I landed, an hour’s wait for the bus (in nice company of a German-Sicilian couple going to Lehtojanni), and a 1+ hour’s bus ride with gorgeous views of mountain and sea – I arrived in Taormina. My neighbor on the bus, a friendly Taorminan college girl going home from her school day in Catania, wanted to practice her English on me. I wanted to practice my Italian on her. She became my guide and walked me to my hotel, quaint little Victoria, on chic Corso Umberto. Pleasantly surprised by the hotel – small but nicely furnished and immaculate room, super friendly staff, and right smack on the Corso, between Gelato and Gelato. And wow was that gelato gooooood!

Leave a Reply

